• A Watermelon, A Fish and a Bible

    Lefteri, Christy Editors Varis SQU 9999902917282 Article 0,00 €
    See other books by the same author
    A moving novel of love and war by the author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo and Songbirds. It is July 1974 and on a bright, sunny morning, the Turkish army has invaded the town of Kyrenia in Cyprus. For many people, this means an end to life as they know it. But for some, it is a chance to begin living...
    Weight: 315 gr
    Available
    4,60 €
    • How to reserve books
      Books can be reserved online for later collection and payment at Hibernian by adding to cart and marking it as "store pick up". If books have not been paid for online then they will be kept aside for a maximum of three (3) work days only. If you want them held longer, you can pay for them online.
  • Details

    • Book binding : Paperback
    • Preservation state : 3. Good
    • Publication Date : 22/11/2022
    • Year of edition : 0
    • Authors : Lefteri, Christy
    • Number of pages : 422

    A moving novel of love and war by the author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo and Songbirds.

    It is July 1974 and on a bright, sunny morning, the Turkish army has invaded the town of Kyrenia in Cyprus. For many people, this means an end to life as they know it. But for some, it is a chance to begin living again.

    Everyone has always talked about Koki. They never believed she was her father's daughter and her mother died too soon to quiet their wagging tongues. And when she became pregnant and there was no sign of a husband, her fate was sealed.

    So she lives outside the town and hides from her neighbours' eyes. But, held captive with the very women who have made her life so lonely, Koki is finally able to tell them the truth. To talk of the Turkish shoe-maker who came to the town and took her heart away with him when he left. And how she has longed for him all these years.

    Meanwhile, Adem Berker finds himself back in Kyrenia, his former home, now as a member of the invading force. Here he left everything he ever wanted and, by cover of darkness, risking his life, he is searching every house, every cafe, every old pathway, for just a glimpse of the only woman he has ever loved.

    For readers of The Island, The Book Thief and The Kite Runner.

This website stores data as cookies to enable the necessary functionality of the site, including analytics and personalization. You can change your settings at any time or accept the default settings.

cookies policy

Essentials

Necessary cookies help make a web page usable by activating basic functions such as page navigation and access to secure areas of the web page. The website cannot function properly without these cookies.


Personalization

Personalization cookies allow the website to remember information that changes the way the page behaves or the way it looks, such as your preferred language or the region in which you are located.


Analysis

Statistical cookies help web page owners understand how visitors interact with web pages by collecting and providing information anonymously.


Marketing

Marketing cookies are used to track visitors on web pages. The intention is to show ads relevant and attractive to the individual user, and therefore more valuable to publishers and third-party advertisers.